Neal Manne is a partner at Susman Godfrey LLP. He handles litigation across the country and is a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. Lawdragon named Neal a “legend” and perennially includes him on its list of the top lawyers in America. Texas Lawyer named Neal the “Attorney of the Year” in Texas in 2017, and The Best Lawyers in America has named him “Lawyer of the Year” in Houston in five different years for antitrust law or bet-the-company litigation.

Neal is a 1976 graduate (highest honors; Friars Society) of the University of Texas, and a 1980 graduate (high honors) of UT law school, where he was Vice Chancellor, Order of the Coif, Associate Editor of the Texas Law Review, and won multiple awards for writing and scholarship. Neal clerked for the Hon. William A. Norris on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Los Angeles, CA., and practiced in Washington, D.C. for 6 years, including at the Senate Judiciary Committee, before joining Susman Godfrey.

For his extraordinary range of pro bono legal work and community service, Neal has received the American Bar Association’s national pro bono award, the ADL’s Jurisprudence Award, the ABA litigation section’s John Minor Wisdom Award, the Houston Bar Foundation’s Leon Jaworski Award, and UT law school’s award as the Distinguished Alumnus for Community Service. He has served on dozens of boards for a wide range of charitable organizations. In addition to serving as a trustee of the Foundation, Neal’s activities in support of UT have included serving as a director of the University of Texas Foundation, as President of the Texas Law Review Association, and as a member of both the University Development Board and the Chancellor’s Council Executive Committee. Neal and his wife, Nancy McGregor, have established scholarships and several endowments at UT-Austin, UT law school, and the UT System’s M. D. Anderson Cancer Center.